mBlock 5 vs Python editor for mBot 2

Hello,

I am new to the field of the microcontroller programming and this is merely a project for my son but I am very compfortable with programming and building software itself.

So I just bought a mbot2 and started playing around with mBlock and the block building programming interface.
While that is a very nice start, after getting used to the features I definitely want to switch to python and use that as the primary development interface (my son is going there with his school activities anyways, so I want to figure it out before he needs it).

As a starting point I used the movement demo and accidently found a button (which I am now searching again) that generated python code based on the blocks. That’s gread to get started! Using that code in the editor was disappointing.
The editor is just a text editor. No autocompletion just syntax highlighting and a bit of easier retyping of already used words.

I was just happy to find out that there’s a dedicated python editor. But now I was the more surprised to not beeing able to use the same code as before due to issues with the event library. There are already some topics about the event library and I read them:

which both are pointing to this topic:

The solution pointed out in the post above does not help either, because the code:

import cyberpi
import time
import mbot2

from cyberpi import event

@event.start
def on_start():
    # Moving function display
    # Upload mode and Live mode are supported.
    cyberpi.console.clear()
    # cyberpi.console.set_font(12) <-- this api is not available with python 3
    cyberpi.console.println("Welcome to mBot2")

will never start. It’s just a different API that does not work on the cyperpi that is shipped with mBot2.