mBlock5 NO WIRELESS MODE for 2.4G mBot

Hi, I am a teacher with a set of mBot 2.4G version. The 2.4G just works a treat. I have downloaded the mBlock5 and shocked to find that there is no way of connecting to our mBots in wireless mode!

I hope you will put this in soon? Also, we have existing .sb2 files that our students have spent a lot of time making a lot of very cool programs. Can we open them in this new mBlock5 environment?

Thanks,
PH.

Hi Petet,
I am afraid there is no plan to support 2.4G currently. You may use Bluetooth dongle+ Bluetooth module or USB cable.

2.4 Dongel is not working wth Mblock 5

Hi,

It is indeed very disappointing.

I am not a teacher but I also bought a mBot 2.4G version to see the difference between the two models. He seemed to be better suited for schools as it indicated. Now schools will have a big surprise or extra cost for Bluetooth Dongle.

Sad

Yeah, I understand that. But there still is mBlock 3 which can work with these mBots without Bluetooth dongle.

Version 3 is very old, I used version 4.
I believe version 5 should support all Makeblock products

Currently there is no plan to support starter and ultimate 2.0, but well still feedback to the related department. Thank you for your support on Makeblock.

The Ultimate 2.0 can be used with mBlock3 and the 2.4G Serial dongle.
All the other threads are closed, but this is the latest one and is still open. So, I will post here.

d.earth has provided this video on the subject.

and instructions in this one.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=makeblock+ultimate+2.0+serial+dongle

The instructions also seem to be in this post.

That was a good post for the Makeblock Ultimate 2.0 and the 2.4G Serial Dongle.

I have reproduced the instructions as follows . . .

Update Firmware (if required)

1. Start mBlock3 software (PC version in this example)
  2. With battery power off, connect the USB cable PC to MegaPi
  3. Select menu items:
    a. Boards -> Ultimate 2.0(MegaPi)