Gcode question- wait

Hello. Im currently using a XY plotter and I am new to this. I am trying to send all the commands with GCode. I would like to know if there is any GCode which willl make XY Plotter stop and wait in its position for a certain amount of time?
I have tried this forum and found that there is a GCode called G04(Dwell) but so far it has not worked for me. Has anyone succeded with this funciton?
Thanks in advance.

Hi jellybean1h

Here is some instruction related to Gcode of the XY Plotter to you for reference.Hope it helps.

I have seen that there is a user that said that by implementing the Gcode G00 with A which is used as a ‘dwell’. Has anyone used it and succeded? I tried and it didn’t work.

You don’t specify which of the three controlling software suystems you are using. If you are using BenBox I cannot say how it operates internally in response to GCode because it is closed-source, and from memory GRemote did not implement anything.

mDraw has an Auxiliary delay methoid which does attempt a delay as a trailing command to a move by using the Annn format. (G01 Xnnn Ynnn Fnnn Annn), but there is no Arduino code to respond to any GCodes other than G00, G01 or G28.

In posts a couple or more years ago a user (BigNick?) suggested that because the Arduino code used integers instead of longs to adjust the delay in the code there would be errors caused by overflow when trying to move very slowly. He published some revisions to the code which worked.

To further complicate the issue, the code which comes with the XYPlotter used one of the reserved words “speed” as a variable, which makes looking through the code to sort this out a bit of a challenge at first.

I have altered both my Python and Arduiino code considerably from that which comes in the GitHub releases so I don’t think I would help by publishing snippets.