Motors suited for pinball machine

With our CoderDojo we want to make a pinball machine.
For the flippers to work, I was thinking about using a motor and a small bar to launch the ball.

Currently I have some DC motors and 2 servo motors, but there’s a large variety of motor extensions available.
Which one would you recommend for creating the flippers with?
Capabilities:

• Swift reaction back & forward
  • Solid and firm (i’ll be using a light table tennis ball)
  • Always the same movement (no variations like the DC motor)

Thanks for your advice!

Hi k.arel,

Firstly, sorry for my English because I am very bad.
Second, this is my reflection on your problem and not a solution that I have tried.
Third, I’ve never done Flipper but would probably go in another direction.

For the base, I would use a spring for the launch the ball and a mechanical system for the 2 flap bar. The mechanics will be more solid and less expensive.

Ok, don’t laugh at my drawing. I am not an engineer and I am not in computer graphics.

Then I would add a small screen, and sensors of all kinds. Vibration sensor for points, electroemant, motors and servo motors.

However, if you decide to use electronics for the 2 flap bar, the ordinary motor will not be precise enough, the motor server and the stepper motor will be too slow. I would use an electroemant to hit the ball.

Hehehehe, I hope you have other suggestions? Sounds like a fun project. The simplest solution will always be the best.

Here is what I was talking about but it is not that simple.
%C3%89lectro

Thanks for your reply.
To be sure that we’re talking about the same, here’s a parts list:
https://images.app.goo.gl/7uMbcegJarQiWiQZ8

I’m not making the launcher.

I’m looking for a way to implement the flipper bats.
I’m now thinking of using the servo motors, but is there a better alternative?

PS: other implementations I’ll be working on with the kids:

• Rotating element: fan
  • Lights: led matrix
  • Score: 7-segment display