Mbot - more voltage to the motors

I’m very new to robotics but I can’t seem to find an easy answer for this - I think it’s easy to do if I knew a little more. So, I bought the cute little Mbot and am a bit disappointed in it’s speed. I remember looking at reviews of these and when they would take off the back was a bit of a wheely bar. But when mine goes forward, it’s about half the speed I expected, maybe less.

So I was thinking about it and I’m using a 3.7v battery (the mBot battery), the little motors are 12v capable (I think)… I’m sure you know where I’m going with this - How do I do it?

mBot’s main board mCore can take 3.7-6V. I am afraid higher voltage will cause damage to the device.

Thanks for responding so quickly!
So apparently the motors are 4-6v, not 12v like I originally thought (sorry!). I know the mcore is capped, which I thought was at 3.7v, I’m assuming there’s resistors from the 6v battery jack, unless it would actually “go faster” with AA’s than the 3.7v mBot battery I bought. But either way, originally, I was talking about the motors, not the mcore. I want to bypass the core to give more voltage to max out the motors (6v). So knowing the battery is only 3.7v… I think I could throw a transistor from the output of the mcore to the motor and maybe add a AA battery (1.5v) to it… :smiley:

It’s my first time with it though, so I don’t know exactly what I’m doing. Any advice would be appreciated. I think I’d need a transistor on each of the wires to the motor, guess I’d have to play with it and a volt meter to see the actual outcome and how the reverse part would work.

Side-Question: Is there an easy way to take off that protective shield around the mcore? On the pictures the board was exposed and I thought it was just a screw-on shield but it’s a 4x plastic clip and I’m hoping I can just pry it off without breaking it to have a better look at the board.