Arduino read analog pin (A) works in v3 but not in v5

Hi,

I am new to both mBlock and Arduino. My knowlegge in both areas is extremely limited so maybe I am asking something obvious, but my problem is really making me crazy. I have done tons of testings, and both Googled and looked up my issue in the forum; but it seems I am the only one with this particular problem.

I am trying to learn how to use a board called “Echidna” based on Arduino (http://echidna.es/hardware/echidnablack/). When using mBlock 3 I can get the readings of the analog inputs. However, the same code does not work in mBlock 5. The board also shows the analog readings when using snap4aurdino. Here you have some screen captures:

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Hi I never heard of Echidna but if its based on an arduino there should always be a way to make it work. But can I ask you, is there a specific reason you want to use the mblock software? Maybe for a non mblock native piece of hardware its easier to directly program it using for instant Arduino IDE.

Hello Atonbom,

Thank you for your interest in my question. I am a teacher and our school is engaged in a computer science programme. The administration bought some Echidna boards for us, so that is what we have and, therefore, what we have to use.

Regarding why use mBlock in particular, because of the pandemic situation we cannot longer use the computer room (we cannot meet the minimum legal separation between students) so the only device they can use now to code are tablets. And while mBlock 5 allows to code using a simple web browser there is no “online” version for mBlock 3.

I have been able to use the analog sensors using Snap4Arduino, but I find mBlock much easier and appealing for my 10-11 year-old students.

Again, thank you for your interest.

Kind regads,

Hello again,