Mechanical components for wheel steering

Hi there,

First of all thanks for these great products you are selling. I like the quality very much.

In order to build more accurate and versatile wheeled robots it would be great if you could make the components necessary to build a steering drive.

The idea would be to have wheels that can be steered with a servo (in front or both in front and in the back). It will reduce the friction on the ground when turning (saving power and increasing drive precision) and it’s kind of a requirement for a 4wd non-square robots.

I am not a mechanical engineer so I don’t know what are the best solutions to achieve this but I think we need some kind of geared transmission and axis rotation control parts.

What do you think? Is there already a solution with existing components and a few tweaks?

Cheers.

Hi nitro,

So glad that you like our products. Thanks for your suggestions, we will decide wheather we should add this part in our plan list.

Are you building a 4wd non-square robot now? Or what you are planning to build? Can you share you project to us? I think we can help to in the mechanical parts in some ways.

Thanks for your support! Cheers!

Hello Eric,

Well I am currently experimenting with a 4-wheeled robot. I had initially backed your kickstarter campaign (deluxe without electronic) and I then purchased additional beams a few weeks ago. It allows me now to build a quite big structure (two layers using big beams).

I have also various electronic boards that I am embedding on it (arduino+raspberry pi, 2 cameras, various motion/location sensors). My goal is to build a fully autonomous vehicle capable of sensing the environment through stereo-vision. So far I am only considering indoor environment.

Challenging but very interesting… and rewarding when it works.