What is XY-Plotter's precision? Can I draw vectors/CAD files?

Hello hello,

I am new to this world, sorry if I asking stupid questions.

1) How precise and sharp is the plotter? Anybody has closeups videos or photos?

2) And I don’t understand what kind of files it can read? Is it like a CAD file?
I want to draw from one of those apps : Illustrator, Sketchup or Autocad. Is it possible?
My idea is to reproduce my 3D Sketchup projects in pencil line drawing.

3) And finally how hard would it to make the flatbed bigger?

Take care,
G

Hi,
I’m just putting together my own version of the X/Y kit. I’m making a custom version, but you could probably go far with the basic set as well.

The precision is quite solid. I would say that since the stepper drivers can do microstepping, you should be able to achieve 1/16th of a millimeter (0.04 inch) & maybe even less than that as well. There’s however many reasons why you might not achieve this, such as slack in belts and inacuracies when building. Getting the default set to be exactly square can be somewhat tricky, so that’s why I’m doing it differently.

Makeblock provides source code for you to upload to the Arduino-based controller that will move the motors (https://github.com/Makeblock-official/Makeblock_XY_Plotter). Since the source code is open, you are free to modify it. The same goes for the Android application (https://github.com/Makeblock-official/Makeblock_XY_Plotter/tree/master/Android%20App%20Source). Together, these two make up a working tool, but this is not really the plotter you would buy unless you want to get your hands dirty with a little programming :wink:

Hi, Gregol, I got some pictures of XY-Plotter. And, as jenschr said, the technical precision is well but it’s difficult to acheive that. There are too much influence factors in assembling progress.

Hi Johnny,