Starter kit- IR version: no control after upgrade firmware

Hello,

THE FACTS: I bought and assembled a starter kit (IR version, Orion board) and was able to control it using the remote. I then installed the mBlock software and connected the starter kit via usb (on Mac/El Capitan). I also installed Arduino software & the driver and was able to connect the kit to Arduino (usb port- Arduino/Genuino Uno board).

THE PROBLEM: After I pressed “upgrade firmware” in mBlock, I was not able to control the kit anymore. I also could not get any reaction using mBlock. The kit has power (the LEDS of all components are working when switched on).

I downloaded Mblock Library v.322 from GitHub and tried to upload it with Arduino (I tried both: paste file in Documents/arduino… and add zip.library via the Arduino menu). No success. Arduino says “Invalid library found in…”.

Could anybody help me? I am really new to makeblock and programming. Thanks.

I did the same thing. I downloaded the Arduino software from their site https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Software and installed the libraries from Makeblock. http://wiki.makeblock.cc/index.php?title=Library_Download
Don’t use the mblock program

Hello,
I have the mBot and mBlock software v3.2.2 for PC. I wrote a small Scratch program which I uploaded via USB (Serial Port COM5 in my case). I pressed the button . My program did run but the Default program did not run any more: pressing the remote buttons did not have any effect.

I checked that the remote send out signal pulses with the camera on my phone. OK
I wrote a noddy program to give beeps when remote buttons were pressed (If IR remote A pressed, play tone on note E2) Uploaded this program and it worked. So, if there is a program that listens to the remote, the remote will have effect. My conclusion was that the default program was not running.