Reading colours

Hi,
I’m trying to write a little program where Codey Rocky rids until it encounters a Duplo block (which we had lying around). It stops with the “obstacle detected” function.
So unfortunately I keep getting different RGB values for the same colour block.
e.g. green block:
16, 71, 16

Strangely, when I enter the RGB values to control the Codey LED, I do get a (more or less) correct colour.

Is there a way to determine if a block is red, green, yellow or blue? (I’m not even considering pink, brown, black, grey, …)

Hi

I’m still new to this, but

I noticed in the mblock app on desktop (Windows) under the sensor tab, there is a tag which you can use in the IF command, you can choose different colors, Try it

Regards

The point is that the color sensor is designed for reflective light. That means it does a good job in telling the color of the ground (and yes, it is calibrated for that). So unless it is really close to the Duplo block at a nice angle, it is unlikely to have a good performance. Cameras are good at telling colors in a distance, or some hacks (I did not try) may help - like using a lens to focus the light to the sensor like the light guns in video games.

Thank you for your answer.
A few questions…

1. If I turn on the LED on Rocky, I’m getting reflective light. No?
  2. If I use the obstacle sensor, am I right that the distance from the blocks it will stop will depend on the colour of the blocks? (farther away when blocks are bright, closer when blocks are dark)

Thanks,
Jurgen

@JurgenG

After this test, you seem to be right:

I find it sad that the robot stops at a different distance depending on the color of the object.
Is this the same technique for mBot?

Otherwise, the color reading is correct when the sensor points forward and the object is 1.5 or 1 cm apart

err

Well… it actually also changes depending on the ambient light and on the speed you advance with Rocky (so if you advance at 5% versus 50% is a different distance)