Problem with 'Green Flag' and 'Arrow Keys' programs using mBlock and USB connection

Hello everybody,

I am a robotics tutor at school and recently our school got 10 mBot kits to start robotics classes.
So I just started to work with mBot and mBlock few days ago and I have encountered a very annoying problem.

Me and my students tried to connect mBot to the PC via USB and program it using mBlock. The matter is that we don’t have this USB connection error, which is so widely discussed in this forum - our PCs see and recognize the serial port and are able to connect it. However, when we try to implement some simple programs like ‘go forward at speed 255 for 1 second and then stop’ or something similar using such events as ‘green flag is clicked’ or ‘when … arrow key is pressed’ it works once or couple of times and then it stops responding to mBlock program. mBlock shows that the program is running and the sprite is doing its part of the program (if we add some commands for the sprite), but the robot is not responding to its part of code.

We tried to reset the power button, tried to disconnect and connect USB cable physically and via ‘Connect’ function, and we also tried to reload mBlock itself. Sometimes some of these actions help for a while but then robots stop responding again. I cannot figure out the pattern to follow in order to keep the robots responsive. I have worked with similar Scratch-based robot programming software before and assume that via USB connection it uses interpreter to run the code simultaneously (I may be wrong). So I suspect that there may be a problem with interpreter inside the software, or something that I can’t figure out.

P.S. I did not use ‘Update firmware’ to erase the robot’s built-in program, we tried to run our own programs on top of that. May this be the case of interruption?

I would greatly appreciate your help and advice.