Need help with robotic arm code for mBot Ranger

I have a M-Bot Ranger with the robotic arm attached and have also been able to control it through the makers platform in the M-Block app, however I want to code it so the motor only moves a certain amount (so it doesn’t start to hit itself). I am not very good with the M-Block coding system so this might be quite easy. Thanks!!

Hi @techy_apple, welcome to the forum! Could you please provide a description or photo of your setup so that I know what ports your motors are on and can give you a sample code? Thanks!

Thanks! Plugged into Port 1 is the motor that controls the arm and Port 2 is the claw.

Port 1 = Arm
Clockwise is up
Counterclock is down

Port 2 = Gripper
Clockwise is close
Counterclock is open

@techy_apple Is the gripper claw a servo motor using a servo driver, or just a normal mBot Ranger motor (the blue encoder motor)? How about the other motor? And what movements or functions would you like to accomplish? A photo would be useful if you can provide one. Thanks!

@Best_codes
Attached is a photo of the wiring and also the motors. My goal is to make the arm pick something up, however I don’t know of a way to make the arm only move a certain amount. When I try to make the arm move (it does work) it reaches all the way to the top and then the motors tries to keep moving which results in the arm hitting the robot.

@techy_apple You could run the motor for a short time (e.g., 0.5 sec) and then stop it. May I know what extensions and code you are currently using?

Here’s an example, but without further info it is hard for me to tell what the code would be (what does your code look like right now, what extensions and device are you using, etc.):

Or you could do something like this for more precise movement (if you are using encoder motors):

I hope this helps! Good luck!