Mac OS X Yosemite & Arduino 1.0.6 doesn't recognize Makeblock Orion

I have installed CH340 driver from http://learn.makeblock.cc/driver_installation/
But Arduino 1.0.6 doesn’t recognize the serial port.

How to find a mBot using Bluetooth From Mac
Issues connecting mBot via USB Serial Port & upgrading firmware at Mac 10.6
No USB connection

@mach I found the solution for the problem from Arduino forum.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=261375.0
After a big of googling found this article - http://www.cindori.org/enabling-trim-on-os-x-yosemite/
Just to summarise. On Yosemite:

1. install the CH340 driver
  2. Run the command in Terminal:
    sudo nvram boot-args=“kext-dev-mode=1”
  3. Reboot

It works! Thanks!

Hi Indream, I am an absolute beginner in programming, would you mind explaining how to ‘run the command in terminal’? My Mac is running on Yosemite 10.10.3. Your help is appreciated.

Hello France

You just need to copy the command: sudo nvram boot-args=“kext-dev-mode=1” into terminal.

Hi peterlee, thank you for your help! What is ‘terminal’ and how do I reach it?

I followed the instructions by downloaded the driver (CH34xInstall), ran the steps until 'Installation was successful) sign. After the window is closed, I could not retrieved the driver. This is where I got stuck so far.

Your further help is appreciated!

Terminal is one of the programs in the Utilities subfolder of the Applications folder. Click on it and a window will open. Then you type the

sudo nvram boot-args=“kext-dev-mode=1”

command on a line and execute it. Terminal lets you directly control your computer without a Graphical User Interface as an intermediary.

Hi TomH, Thank you for detailed explanation. I have done everything you said and logged out. After logged in, should I find an icon for the driver (in Applications?)? I connected Orion and expected the driver to pop up but it didn’t.