mRanger motor blocks

I am looking for a detailed explanation for each of the motor blocks that should work for my mRanger. I am a beginner when it comes to understanding and working with robots. On top of that I have no knowledge about motors. I do want to learn so I need some help - I guessed that the encoder motors would be the ones verses DC or servo (but I’m not sure! ).

There are a ton of different blocks related to motors and I don’t know what they do. For example set encoder motor on board slot 1 rotate at the speed of 100 rpm. why would i use that one verses set encoder motor on board slot1 rotate at 1000 degrees at the speed of 180 rpm. Hopefully you get the idea…

The differences in the blocks are relatively simple.

The first block, [run forward/backward | turn left/right] control both of the motors to move the robot in the selected direction at the speed that is specified.

The second block, [run forward/backward | turn left/right] [degrees] degrees at the speed of [speed] rpm is similar to the first block but allows the use of the motor encoder to specify how many rotations the motor axle should turn.

The set encoder motor on board [slot] rotate at the speed of [speed] rpm sets the speed of a specific motor.

The set encoder motor on board [slot] rotate [degrees] degrees at the speed of [speed] rpm is similar to the previous one but allows the use of the motor encoder to control the number of rotations fo the motor axle.

The set encoder motor on board [slot] power to [power] looks like a duplication of the set encode motor on board [slot] rotate at the speed of [speed] rpm. (@tech_support, is this correct?)

The set DC motor [Port] speed [speed] sets the motor on the selected port to the specified speed. This is likely for use with other motors besides the ones that come with the kit that are connected via an extension board.

The set stepper motor [port] speed [speed] distance [distance] is used to control a stepper motor.