Basic newbie questions

Hi everyone!

I assume these questions are basic and I just don’t know the answers because I’m very new at this. I bought mBot for my son and am trying to program it to be used with a wireless ps2 controller, but also just have some basic questions with terminology that I’ve come across in my research.

I assume that what I’m doing is writing a “program” when I copy and paste the code from this page:

is that a “program” or an “extension”… or do they mean the same thing?

When I copy and paste this in Arduino mode, it tells me that it can’t find the .h files in the “library”. I know there are a library of files, and I’ve tried adding these to them, but it still tells me I can’t find them, so I assume I’m putting them in the wrong place. How can you add files to the mblock library?

After this, I downloaded Arduino IDE from the Arduino.cc website. I WAS able to successfully add the files and didn’t get the same error from the mblock program of “can’t find meUSB.h”, but upon copying and pasting the code from the above website, and then hitting “upload”, it gives me the error of “programmer not responding”.

What is a “programmer”? I notice that there is a section under “tools” for “programmer” and a long list of different ones… how do I know which one?

I’ve also read in numerous places that to upload a “program” to mBot you need an actual usb cable. Is that something that I need to purchase separately, or did it come with mBot? I saw two for sale on the makeblock website- which one do I need (if i need one) ?

Thanks in advance!!